For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

IoP news

Results: 281 - 300 of 302
Results: 281 - 300 of 302
  • 3 Jul 2012
    Nine Vidi grants for researchers UvA and AMC

    The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) has awarded a Vidi grant to nine researchers from the University of Amsterdam (UvA) and the Amsterdam Medical Center (AMC-UvA).

  • 19 Jun 2012
    Dr J-S. Caux

    Dr J-S. Caux has been appointed Professor of Theory of low-dimensional quantum condensed matter at the University of Amsterdam’s (UvA) Faculty of Science.

  • 31 May 2012
    Robbert Dijkgraaf receives honorary memberships from NNV and KNCV

    University Professor Robbert Dijkgraaf has been appointed honorary member of the Dutch physics and chemistry societies NNV and KNCV. Dijkgraaf is celebrated for his groundbreaking scientific work, his ambassadorship ...

  • 23 May 2012
    UvA physicist wins Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award 2012

    Katerina Dohnalova, a researcher at the Institute of Physics of the University of Amsterdam(UvA), has won the Amsterdam Science & Innovation Award 2012. She will receive a prize worth 5000 euros.

  • 21 May 2012
    E-MRS Young Scientist Award for Saba Saeed

    Saba Saeed, a PhD student in the Optoelectronic Materials group of the Institute of Physics, received the Young Scientist Award during the 2012 spring meeting of the European Materials Research Society.

  • 21 May 2012
    ENI Renewable Energy Prize 2012 for Albert Polman

    The prestigious ENI Renewable and Non-conventional Energy Prize 2012 has been awarded jointly to UvA professor Albert Polman and Harry Atwater (CalTech) for their research on high-efficiency solar cells based on ...

  • 27 Apr 2012
    FOM 'Projectruimte' grant for UvA physicist Robert Spreeuw

    The Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM) has awarded a 'Projectruimte' grant to UvA scientist Dr Robert Spreeuw (Institute of Physics) for his project Superatoms and entanglement in an array of atomic ...

  • 23 Apr 2012
    Professor Gary Shiu appointed to Van der Waals chair

    Theoretical physicist prof. Gary Shiu of the University of Wisconsin will be appointed professor by special appointment to the ‘Johannes Diderik van der Waals’ chair. Shiu has many important contributions to his ...

  • 17 Apr 2012
    Documentary on Higgs search receives film prize

    The documentary HIGGS: Into the heart of imagination has been awarded the Grand Prix of the second edition of the Film&Science festival. In this movie, UvA professor Stan Bentvelsen and his colleagues are filmed ...

  • 17 Apr 2012
    Physicists observe the splitting of an electron

    An electron has been observed to decay into two separate particles, each carrying a particular property of the electron. This result is reported in a paper published in Nature by an international team of researchers ...

  • 22 Mar 2012
    UvA starts trial run for more efficient production of biofuel

    On Friday, 23 March, the University of Amsterdam will open the first Photanol test production plant. The facility’s purpose is to test and design the best mass production method for the new biofuel Photanol.

  • 21 Mar 2012
    Prof. A. Polman

    Prof. A. Polman has been named Professor of Photonic Materials in the Faculty of Science at the University of Amsterdam.

  • 6 Mar 2012
    Nikhef/IoP puts two projects on NWO Roadmap 2012

    The two proposals for the NWO Roadmap 2012 that were submitted by Nikhef and in which the Institute of Physics participates, have both been granted. With this, Nikhef has put both the detector upgrades for the ...

  • 8 Dec 2011
    Jook Walraven on shortlist for Teacher of the Year 2011

    Prof. dr. Jook Walraven, professor of experimental statistical physics at the Institute of Physics, has been placed on the shortlist of the UvA Teacher of the Year 2011. On Wednesday December 14th, he and the other ...

  • 28 Nov 2011
    Green plastic powered by FOM, Michelin, SKF and DPI

    Under leadership of UvA professor Daniel Bonn, the FOM Foundation has formed a partnership with Michelin, SKF and Dutch Polymer Institute (DPI) to gain a better fundamental understanding of how polymers are ...

  • 22 Nov 2011
    FOM Programme 'Topological Insulators' funded

    The proposal for the FOM programme 'Topological Insulators', submitted by programme leader prof. dr. Mark Golden, has been selected for funding for a total of 2.7M€.

  • 22 Nov 2011
    Honorary doctorate for Prof. Peter Zoller

    The University of Amsterdam will award an honorary doctorate to theoretical physicist Peter Zoller. He will receive the honorary doctorate in recognition of his groundbreaking work on lasers and atoms. The honorary ...

  • 3 Nov 2011
    STW grant Gregorkiewicz for more efficient solar cells

    Physicist prof. Tom Gregorkiewicz has received a grant in the Open Technology programme of the Dutch Technology Foundation STW with his proposal "Spectral shaping for smart photovoltaics: Cutting and pasting photons ...

  • 24 Oct 2011
    FOM 'Projectruimte' grant for three FNWI scientists

    The executive board of the Foundation for Fundamental Research of Matter (FOM) has awarded 'Projectruimte' grants to three FNWI researchers: prof. Paul de Jong (IoP), prof. Peter Bolhuis (HIMS) and dr. Peter Schall ...

  • 17 Oct 2011
    Kickoff meeting GRAPPA

    On Friday October 21st the GRAPPA research priority area of the UvA and the Faculty of Science / FNWI organises a kickoff meeting to highlight the arrival of four new faculty members: Shin'ichiro Ando, Gianfranco ...