Celebrating 5 years of the GRAPPA Centre of Excellence in Astroparticle Physics

16Oct2017 18Oct2017 09:30


In 2012 the University of Amsterdam started Gravitation Astroparticle Physics Amsterdam (GRAPPA), its new excellence center for astroparticle physics, a multidisciplinary initiative of three institutes on the Science campus in Amsterdam. The new initiative resulted in the hiring of seven new faculty members, working on topics like dark matter (indirect) detection, gamma-ray emission from cosmic-ray sources, neutrino research, gravitational waves and theory and the observations of the early Universe.

After five years GRAPPA has become a household name in astroparticle physics, and a thriving place to do astroparticle physics research, involving around 50 researchers. In order to celebrate our five year anniversary GRAPPA is organising a three day symposium on all aspects of astroparticle physics, with an impressive list of invited speakers: John Beacom, Lars Bergström, Esra Bulbul, Luke Drury, Stefan Funk, Francis Halzen, Stavros Katsanevas, Matthew Kleban, Nergis Mavalvala, Jocelyn Monroe, Hiranya Peiris and Tim Tait.

We invite colleagues who are interested in astroparticle physics to join us in the celebration of GRAPPA’s five year anniversary. Apart from a host of excellent invited speakers we also have a number of open slots for interesting contributions in the field of astroparticle physics.

Please note that this conference is not open to members of the public.


GRAPPA @ 5 will take place at the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), which is located opposite the Institute of Physics at the following address:

Science Park 123
1098 XG Amsterdam


GRAPPA@5 will host a number of talks from leading experts in the fields of dark matter, cosmic rays, high energy astrophysics and cosmology.  There will also be contributed talks from both local and non-local researchers in the field.

Further Information

For further information or to register for this event, please visit the conference website.  Attendance of this event is by registration only.

Published by  IOP